The choice of some of the new cabinet members – a master stroke? Full list is out / Manohar Khushalani

S. Jaishankar, Ajit Doval and Narendra Modi

Getting Dr. S. Jaishankar, as a member of the Indian Cabinet is a master stroke by PM Modi. He was the negotiator of the Civil Nuclear Deal with USA, which required complex negotiations. Dr. S. Jayshankar worked with Manmohan Singh on the Civil Nuclear Deal. That was one of the greatest achievements of Mr. Manmohan Singh. I remember following the regular updates on this matter. The negotiations were really complex, and it was quite a task making the American Government turn around navigating through intricate International agreements.

Jayshankar was also the man behind diffusion of Doclam standoff. Besides he was the Ambassador to US and China. One couldn’t think of a better Minister of Foreign Affairs. The reappointment of Ajit Doval and inclusion of Hardeep S. Puri in the cabinet, shows a focus on India’s International Relations. Signs of India emerging as a Geopolitical power.

But Doval is the first NSA to have cabinet rank. A significant amount of credit for the success of the post-Uri surgical strikes in PoK, as well as the Balakot strikes post-Pulwama may go to Doval. In resolving the Doklam standoff, both Doval and Jaishankar reportedly played key roles.

Besides in his first innings the PM was disadvantaged by not having enough expertise in his cabinet. That is why Ministers like Arun Jaitley were overloaded with too many responsibilites and ministries. This time in his second inning’s the PM appears to be following the American model of installing professionals as his advisers.

The list of the ministries is out. Amit Shah has not been given Finance. A better qualified Woman from JNU has been given the responsibility -Nirmala Sitarman. These are her qualifications. So I am told:

BA (Economics)
MA (Economics)
M. Phil (Economics)
Assistant to Economist, Agricultural Engineers Association, UK
Manager, BBC
Senior Manager R&D, Price Waterhouse
Former Commerce Minister, India
Former Defence Minister, India
Now Finance Minister Of India

Here is the complete list of Ministers with Portfolios released by Rashtrapati Bhawan

Cabinet Ministers

Amit Shah – Home Affairs

Rajnath Singh – Defence

Nirmala Sitharaman – Finance; Corporate Affairs

Subrahmanyam Jaishankar – External Affairs

Nitin Gadkari – Road Transport and Highways; Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises

DV Sadananda Gowda – Chemical and Fertilizers

Ram Vilas Paswan – Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution

Narendra Singh Tomar – Agriculture and Farmers Welfare; Rural Development; Panchayati Raj

Ravi Shankar Prasad – Law and Justice; Communications; Electronics and Information Technology

Harsimrat Kaur Badal – Food Processing Industries

Thawarchand Gehlot – Social Justice and Empowerment

Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank – Human Resource Development

Arjun Munda – Tribal Affairs

Smriti Irani – Women and Child Development; Textiles

Dr Harsh Vardhan – Health and Family Welfare; Science and Technology; Earth Sciences

Prakash Javdekar – Environment, Forest and Climate Change; Information and Broadcasting

Piyush Goyal – Railways; Commerce and Industries

Dharmendra Pradhan – Petroleum and Natural Gas; Steel

Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi – Minority Affairs

Prahlad Joshi – Parliamentary Affairs; Coal; Mines

Mahendra Nath Pandey – Skill Development and Entrepreneurship

Arvind Sawant – Heavy Industries and Public Enterprise

Giriraj Singh – Animal Husbandry, Dairying and Fisheries

Gajendra Singh Shekhawat – Jal Shakti

Ministers of State (Independent Charge)

Santosh Kumar Gangwar – Labour and Employment
Rao Inderjit Singh – Statistics and Programme Implementation; Planning
Shripad Yesso Naik – Ayurveda, Yoga and Naturopathy, Unani, Siddha and Homoeopathy (AYUSH); MoS Defence
Dr Jitendra Singh – Ministry of Development of North Eastern Region; MoS PMO; Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions; Department of Atomic Energy; Department of Space
Kiren Rijiju – Youth Affairs and Sports; MoS Minority Affairs
Prahalad Singh Patel – Culture; Tourism
Raj Kumar Singh – Power; New and Renewable Energy; MoS Skill Development and Entrepreneurship
Hardeep Singh Puri – Housing and Urban Affairs; Civil Aviation; MoS Commerce and Industry
Mansukh L Mandaviya – Shipping; MoS Chemicals and Fertilizers

Ministers of State

Faggansingh Kulaste – Steel
Ashwini Kumar Choubey – Health and Family Welfare
Arjun Ram Meghwal – Parliamentary Affairs; Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises
General (Retd) VK Singh – Road Transport and Highways
Krishan Pal – Social Justice and Empowerment
Danve Raosaheb Dadarao – Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution
G Kishan Reddy – Home Affairs
Parshottam Rupala – Agriculture and Farmers Welfare
Ramdas Athawale – Social Justice and Empowerment
Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti – Rural Development
Babul Supriyo – Environment, Forest and Climate Change
Sanjeev Kumar Balyan – Animal Husbandry, Dairying and Fisheries
Dhotre Sanjay Shamrao – Human Resource Development; Communications; Electronics and Information Technology
Anurag Singh Thakur – Finance; Corporate Affairs
Angadi Suresh Channabasappa – Railways
Nityanand Rai – Home Affairs
Rattan Lal Kataria – Jal Shakti; Social Justice and Empowerment
V Muraleedharan – External Affairs; Parliamentary Affairs
Renuka Singh Saruta – Tribal Affairs
Som Parkash – Commerce and Industry
Rameswar Teli – Food Processing Industries
Pratap Chandra Sarangi – Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises; Animal Husbandry, Dairying and Fisheries
Kailash Choudhary – Agriculture and Farmers Welfare
Debasree Chaudhuri – Women and Child Development

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *